Wednesday, November 10, 2010

Canada wins second CONCACAF women's title in 2010

Canada has won two of three CONCACAF women's tournaments this year. The Canadian national team recently returned home a champion from the 2010 CONCACAF Women's World Cup Qualifier. Eight months earlier, the U-17 team won the CONCACAF Women's Under-17 Championship in March. It marks the first time in Association history that Canada has claimed two CONCACAF championships in the same year.

Canada's national teams have now won nine CONCACAF championships dating back to its first men's title in 1985. In all, Canada has won two men's titles (1985, 2000), two women's titles (1998, 2010), two men's U-20 (1986, 1996), two women's U-20 (2004, 2008) and one women's U-17 (2010).

From 29 October to 8 November 2010, Canada competed in the eight-team CONCACAF Women's World Cup Qualifier. The team posted a perfect record of five-straight wins, scoring 17 goals and conceding none. In the final, Canada won 1:0 over host Mexico in front of 16,005 fans at the Estadio Andrés Quintana Roo in Cancún, Mexico.

This victory marks the second time Canada has won the CONCACAF Women's World Cup Qualifier with a win over Mexico in the final. Canada previously won the same title back in 1998 in Etobicoke, ON.

Both Canada and Mexico qualified for the FIFA Women's World Cup Germany 2011 while third-place finisher USA now faces Italy in a two-leg playoff later this month.

As for this year, Canada improves its overall record to 11 wins, one draw and two losses. It still has four international matches to play in December at the Torneio Internacional in São Paulo, Brazil, which will give the team 18 official international matches by year's end (not counting closed door matches or exhibition matches). Highlights are the CONCACAF championship in November, the home victory at BMO Field in September, and the Cyprus Women's Cup victory in March.

Canada, whose title sponsor is Winners and presenting sponsor is Teck, has now qualified for five consecutive FIFA Women's World Cups: Sweden 1995, USA 1999, USA 2003, China 2007 and Germany 2011. The FIFA Women's World Cup Germany 2011 runs 26 June to 17 July in nine German cities: Augsburg, Berlin, Bochum, Dresden, Frankfurt, Leverkusen, Mönchengladbach, Sinsheim, and Wolfsburg.

- Posted using BlogPress from my iPhone

No comments: